I want to provide you with some information on car rental additional driver policy and extra driver fees that is company specific.
An additional driver (for any company) is anyone other than the renter who drives the
rental car. Additional Driver qualifications and additional driver fees can vary by car rental company and/or specific locations.
Below you will find the results of my research into Added Driver Policy for a variety of different car rental companies.
*Note: Car rental companies can modify policy and change fees at any time; I make every attempt to maintain up-to-date info, but always check with an individual provider to verify any policy. See: Disclaimer
Alamo Additional Driver Policy
(opens in a new window)
- Any extra drivers must meet the same age, credit ID and drivers license requirements as the renter does
- They must be with the primary renter and can only sign on at the pickup location (not at another location)
Alamo Additional Driver Fees
For any extra driver (including a spouse) the extra fee is, on average, $10 per day.
According to Alamo.com, state law in California, Illinois, Missouri, Nevada, Oregon, and Wisconsin allow the spouse of a renter to be an automatic authorized additional driver (provided they meet normal renter requirements) with no extra fee.
Alamo Extra Driver Fees are not charged for:
- additional drivers under corporate contracts on a business rental
- drivers who are members of Alamo Insiders- added drivers who are the spouse, partner or immediate family member of an Alamo Insider who is renting a vehicle (must have the same drivers license address as the renter)
Avis Car Rental Additional Driver Policy
(opens in a new window) you can sign on up to two additional authorized drivers. All extra drivers must:
- be at least 25 years old
- meet drivers license and credit ID requirements
- fill out an additional driver form at the rental counter
Extra driver fees may apply; renters should check with their preferred Avis location for location specific policy.
For most states, the additional driver fee is usually $13 per day, for EACH additional driver(maximum charge of $65 per rental per added driver).
- New York - normally $3 per day per additional driver.
- Nevada - normally $11 per day per additional driver (maximum charge of $55 per added driver per rental).
- California - no additional driver fee.
Exemptions from Avis additional driver charges:
- renter's employer/fellow employee when on a company business rental- renter's spouse or domestic partner- disabled renters who require a designated driver, and have completed the non-licensed renter form
More Avis Related Pages
Budget Car Rental Additional Driver Policy
(opens in a new window) any extra driver must be at least 25 years of age with a valid US or Canadian issued drivers' license in their own name and accepted credit ID.
Additional driver fees may apply; always check with your preferred Budget location for their policy.
The fee for each additional driver is normally $13 per day with a maximum charge of $65 per additional driver, per rental.
Exceptions in the US:
California - no added driver fee.
Nevada - usually $10 per day with a maximum charge of $50 per rental per additional driver.
New York - the fee is $3 per day.
Exempt from the additional driver fee (must meet all other driver requirements):
- the renter's employer or fellow employee when on company business and renting under a corporate account
- the renter's spouse or domestic partner(must have the same address on both drivers licenses)
- the driver of a renter with a disability who requires a designated driver and has completed the non-licensed renter form
- with an insurance replacement rentals: company employees or family members who are designated on the renters' insurance policy are exempt from the additional driver fees
More Budget Related Pages
Dollar Car Rental Additional Driver Policy
(opens in a new window) all added authorized drivers must meet the rental locations' age requirements, have a valid drivers license and must meet other rental car requirements for the location of the rental pickup.
Requirements and qualifications for renters (ie. credit requirements, minimum age) for added authorized drivers can be found by contacting the direct Dollar location that you will rent from.
- Employers/fellow employees of renters renting on corporate rate plans, may be added as extra drivers, as long as the rental is for business purposes and they meet all other rental requirements.
Additional Driver Fees:
Fees may apply; renters should check with their preferred Dollar rental location for their car rental additional driver policy for the amount of extra driver fees.
(must still meet minimum age and license requirements)
- government renters on official government orders which specify car rental- Dollar corporate account customers on corporate rate plans
- designated drivers of physically impaired customers.
More Dollar Related Pages
Enterprise Car Rental Additional Driver Policy
(opens in a new window)
-All additional drivers must meet all Enterprise renter requirements (age, credit ID) and be at the rental counter with the renter.
-An extra, daily extra driver fee will apply. (fee can vary by location)
There is no additional driver fee at Enterprise locations in the US or Canada for a spouse, domestic partner or designated driver for a mobility impaired renter who needs to have a driver.
State law in California, Illinois, Missouri, Nevada, Oregon, and Wisconsin allow the spouse of the renter to be an automatic authorized driver with no extra fees.
More Enterprise Related Pages
EZ Rent a Car - Extra Drivers
opens in a new window)
When you pick up your rental, you can request to have an additional driver added to your contract. They must be present and must meet the same qualifications as the renter/primary driver. The extra driver fee is 9.99 USD / day / driver. (Fee can be waived if the renter is disabled and accompanied by an authorized driver.)
Fox Car Rental Additional Driver Policy
(opens in a new window)
Extra drivers must be authorized by the rental location and must meet the same qualifications that the primary renter does (ie,. age, drivers license and credit card requirements).
No additional drivers are permitted on cash rentals.
Fox Additional Driver Fees
California -- no extra fee
Arizona, Washington, Michigan, Montana -- $8 per day fee for extra drivers
Colorado, Florida, Nevada and Utah -- $10 per day added driver fee
Missouri -- $6 per day additional driver charge
Hawaii -- $9 per day extra fee
More Fox Related Pages
Hertz Car Rental Additional Driver Policy
Added drivers must go with a renter to be signed on to the rental agreement.
Added drivers must meet normal license and credit ID requirements, at be at least 21. For additional drivers aged 21 to 24, that location's underage fee will be added, in addition to an extra driver fee.
Fees for Added Drivers
Fees are normally $13.50 per day (maximum $94.50 per driver per rental) for each additional driver. Note: Some cities may have different fees - where I have found these I have listed them below; always check your particular locations policy before pickup.
There is a maximum 4 additional drivers per contract allowed.
Exemptions for Car Rental Additional Driver Policy on Extra Driver Fees
There is no additional driver fee for the renter's spouse for rentals at Hertz locations in California or Iowa.
Nevada - The fee is $11.68 per day (maximum $81.76 per rental), for each authorized additional driver.
New York - The fee is $3.00 per day up to a maximum of USD 35.00, for each authorized extra driver.
AAA - There is no extra driver fee for the spouse/partner of AAA members. The extra driver fee is also waived if both the renter and the extra driver are AAA members(as long as the rental contract includes a AAA discount number).
USAA/AARP - There used to be information on Hertz.com stating that there was No charge for qualified extra drivers who are USAA or AARP members (as long as the rental agreement includes USAA discount number), but I can no longer find that information. Please ask your preferred location for their policy regarding additional driver fees for those members.
More Hertz Related Pages
National Car Rental Additional Driver Policy
Must meet the renting location's minimum age requirements, have a valid driver's license and show a major credit card in their own name at the rental counter.
Note: Except in New York, which doesn't require a credit card. Renters without one must complete a cash qualification.
Additional driver fees may apply; renters should check with their preferred rental location for their car rental additional driver policy on extra driver fees.
Any additional driver (including a spouse or domestic partner) will pay a daily fee of approximately $10 per day unless the renter is an Emerald Club member or has a contracted corporate account.
Emerald Club Members in the United States and Canada are allowed to have the following extra drivers without a fee (as long as they meet all other regular rental requirements):
Emerald Club member's spouse, common law spouse, or domestic partner (must have same address on the drivers license as the Emerald Club member).
Immediate family member, Mother/Father, Son/Daughter, or Brother/Sister who has the same address on the drivers license as the Emerald Club member.
Corporate Contracts / Business Benefits Member in the United States and Canada are allowed a business partner or fellow employee as additional drivers at no charge, as long as they meet all other normal requirements.
There is no additional fee for the spouse in California, Illinois, Missouri, Nevada, Oregon, and Wisconsin.
All other extra drivers are subject to a daily charge.
Payless Car Rental Additional Driver Policy
(opens in a new window)
Most locations allow additional drivers. Whatever qualification requirements that are required of a renter (for a particular location) will be the same requirements that are required of any additional drivers (ie. age, drivers license, credit card). You must confirm policy for a specific location in order to find their policy.
Added driver fees apply, when permitted by state law and vary by location. The average fee is $10 per day.
Silver Car - Added Driver Program
You can add an extra driver when you pick up your Silvercar. They must be at least 25 years old, be present with you and show their driver's license for verification. If your rental is already begun, you must return to the rental location to add a driver (again, they must be with you).
There is no fee for added drivers.
Thrifty Car Rental Additional Driver Policy
(opens in a new window)
-Must meet the minimum age, drivers license and credit id requirements of the pickup location.
At most Thrifty locations, there is an additional daily charge for additional authorized drivers including spouses. Renters should check with their particular Thrifty rental location for their car rental additional driver policy on extra driver fees.
More Thrifty Related Pages